UP to 100million Netflix accounts will be told they are banned from password sharing very soon.
The Bridgerton hit-maker is expected to start a major crackdown sometime in April after months of warning the big change will happen.
Account sharing only breaks the rules if you give your username and password to someone outside your household.
Sharing within your household is fine.
But Netflix believes some 100million accounts across the globe are shared with outsiders.
This means millions could find themselves getting told off once the crackdown fully kicks in.
Netflix is likely to charge you extra if you want someone outside your home to continue using your account.
“Later in Q1, we expect to start rolling out paid sharing more broadly,” the firm said recently.
“As we roll out paid sharing, members in many countries will also have the option to pay extra if they want to share Netflix with people they don’t live with.”
The company expects some annoyed users will cancel their subscription in response to the move.
As per some of the early test countries already facing a password sharing ban, users are allowed to watch Netflix on a TV outside their home for up to two weeks – this should cover a holiday.
“You can watch Netflix on a TV outside your home for up to 2 weeks as long as your account has not been previously used in that location,” the rules state.
“This is allowed once per location per year.”
Once the two weeks are up, that TV loses access to Netflix until the main account holder pays an additional fee.
Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…
Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at email@example.com
Click Here For More Tech News