IF you’ve been communicating via WhatsApp and they’ve stopped replying, you may be wondering whether you’ve been blocked.
But it isn’t always obvious whether you have been or not. Here are some things to look out for.
How to check if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp
Meta-owned messaging platform WhatsApp has become a big part of all of our lives and an easy way to call and message people across the world for free.
But it’s important to remain vigilant, and know the warning signs of a scam on the app.
It’s easy to be deceived online – users were warned over a malicious link to an app that claimed to turn WhatsApp pink.
With all the hazards online, it’s vital platforms like WhatsApp offer the ability to block people, but what if you think it’s happened to you?
If you’re fearing the worst, there are a few ways of checking whether you have been.
You can also find ways to work out if you’ve been blocked on Facebook here.
On WhatsApp, there isn’t a direct way of check whether you’ve been blocked, and you won’t receive a notification if it happens.
However, if you have, you’ll no longer be able to see their “Last seen” indicator, or the contact’s online status in the chat window.
There are other reasons why this might happen, so it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve been blocked.
Comparing how their profile appears with another person’s handset may give you an indication.
When you send messages to someone who has blocked you, they will be marked as sent – but not delivered, and any calls you make won’t go through.
Though this can also be caused by a person simply having no internet connection.
Again, checking your sent-message status against another person who has also sent a message to the contact is an easy way to check.
Of course, it’s possible that you’ve both been blocked, in which case you won’t be able to tell.
It’s also worth considering why the person might have chosen to block you in the first place.
If you have been harassing or abusing someone, you should stop trying to contact them.
You can report harassment, malicious messaging or distribution of private sexual images without consent online or by calling the police on 101.
How to block someone on WhatsApp
If you want to block someone on WhatsApp, all you need to do is follow these simple steps:
- Open the WhatsApp chat with the contact you want to block.
- Then click the name at the top of the chat.
- Scroll down and you should have to option to “Block” or “Report” them.
- Select this and then select “Block”.
This can also be done with unknown numbers.
A blocked contact won’t be able to message or call you on WhatsApp.
What if someone’s picture disappears on WhatsApp?
If you’re blocked, you’ll no longer be able to see their profile picture.
However, this could simply mean that they’ve removed their image and don’t currently have one too.
It could also be the result of a connection problem.
This also occurs when the contact has changed their privacy settings to Nobody, or when you’ve changed your own last seen privacy settings to Nobody.